Category Archives: Databases

Library Enquiry of the Month: Off-campus access

How do I access online resources off-campus? It’s one of our most common enquiries in the library@rhul.ac.uk inbox – but luckily it’s very easy to solve!

Road to nowhere in Iran

CampusAnywhere is a service that allows you to connect to your campus Y: Drive and restricted webpages such as Library databases which want you to log in every time you use them. This can be complicated, and repetitive, so using CampusAnywhere means you only have to log in once, and can access resources automatically – as though you were on campus.

It’s available for Internet Explorer (7, 8, 9, 10, and 11); Firefox; Mac OS X 10.7 (and higher); iOS (iPad/iPhone); Android – 4.x (Ice Cream Sandwich); and Linux. All you need is an internet connection and your RHUL username and passwords.

Sounds good? We know! Visit the IT webpages to get the right version for you.

Finding recent magazine issues using Nexis UK

Browsing journals online can be difficult, depending on the database that you have to use to access them. You can use the ‘Journals by Title’ search in LibrarySearch to find a publication.

Some are very easy to use, and make it clear where the most recent issue is – such as in the video above.

Here are some examples relevant to Media Arts which are a little more complicated…

Accessing Variety using the FIAF database

To look up access options for the Variety magazine, go to LibrarySearch (librarysearch.rhul.ac.uk) and use the ‘Journals by Title’ search:

librarysearchvariety

Select ‘View Online’ to see the access options:

varietyaccessoptions

 

If you’re using FIAF, you should be taken to a page with some bibliographic information on the journal, and under ‘List of issues’ a collapsible list of contents pages, which should link to the PDF of articles wherever possible:

varietyFIAF

Click ‘PDF’ to view the article.

Accessing Screen International using the Nexis UK database

Some publications, like ‘Screen International’ are only available via the Nexis UK database. You will need to follow the link to Nexis, but then try using the date range filters to narrow down the range of articles. Clicking ‘Search’ should take you to a recent list.

 

If you have any questions about accessing publications, leave a comment or email library@royalholloway.ac.uk.

New resource – Credo Reference

cors-2014-purple-hor

Researching a topic? You’ve probably been warned about the perils of using Wikipedia for your academic work, but what’s the alternative? The Library has recently subscribed to an excellent resource, called Credo Reference. Using Credo, you can find quality information from respected reference works, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. It’s very easy to use and includes a mind mapping option, which allows you to see concepts that relate to your topic area. There is also an image search and you are free to use these images in your academic work (remember to cite and reference it).

Get started by watching this video:

 Then head to http://search.credoreference.com to try it out!

What is the USC Shoah Archive?

The USC Shoah Foundation Institute’s Visual History Archive contains 50,000 digitized interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust. Interviews are approximately two and a half hours long and some are supplemented with photographs, documents, and artifacts pertaining to the interviewee’s family and wartime experiences.

Interviewees speak on the following topics:

  • Jewish Survivors
  • Rescuers and Aid Providers
  • Sinti and Roma Survivors
  • Liberators and Liberation Witnesses
  • Political Prisoners
  • Jehovah’s Witness Survivors
  • War Crimes Trials Participants
  • Survivors of Eugenics Policies
  • Homosexual Survivors

In April 2013, the Visual History Archive expanded to include a collection of 65 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi genocide. Conducted in two countries (U.S.A. and Rwanda), and two languages (English and Kinyarwanda), this initial collection of 65 Rwandan testimonies was accomplished in collaboration with Aegis Trust and the Kigali Genocide Memorial.

In February 2014, 12 audiovisual testimonies of survivors of the 1937-38 Nanjing Massacre were integrated into the VHA. These testimonies are in Mandarin and were conducted in Nanjing, China through a partnership with the Nanjing Massacre Memorial Hall.

It’s a unique resource, and Royal Holloway Library is the only place in the UK with access to the collection – which means that researchers often come from far and wide to view the videos.

How do I use it?

There is a link on the Databases A-Z, under U, and once you’re on the site, you will need to create an account in order to log in, search, and view videos.

  1. Follow the link to the website
    • If on-campus, no login is needed to access the website
    • If off-campus, you will need to sign in with your Royal Holloway computer username and password
  2. Once on the website, you must register to create a personal username and password
  3. Due to high bandwidth, videos to be viewed must be downloaded to Royal Holloway’s servers rather than viewed directly from USC website.
    • Some videos already downloaded and available for immediate viewing; just click on the videos marked “Viewable now” to watch
    • Others must be requested for download. Because our server space is limited, students must get tutor’s permission before requesting a download.
  4. Once requested, the video will be added to Royal Holloway’s servers and will be available to view after 12-48 hours. Videos can only be viewed on campus, but you are able to log in and make a request for a video to be downloaded from any off-campus PC.

Searching the archive

Searching is easy, you can search on a topic, for a name, and use links in the videos to skip to particular sections relevant to your interests. The USC Shoah Foundation has a YouTube Channel with lots of information, but we’ve collected searching tips in this playlist.

Have you used the archive? Do you think it would be useful in your research? Contact library@rhul.ac.uk for more information, or leave a comment below.

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online has a new look! So what better time to feature it as Resource of the Week. If you’ve never used Literature Online, it’s got some really useful features and a huge collection of over 330,000 works of English and American literature covering poetry, drama, and prose from the 8th to the 21st centuries. LION also includes thousands of critical articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries.

How to find it:

On your subject guide

OR

Go to the Databases A-Z
Go to L
Click on the Literature Online link

Quick Search: searches all content, including texts (poetry, prose, drama), literary works, criticism and reference.

LitOnlinequicksearch

Text Search: find full texts of poetry, prose and drama, but author or literary movement.

Use the ‘Look up’ function to get more reliable results.

LitOnlinetextsearch

View texts by this author to read full texts of their works. You can also search for works in a particular genre, or by an author in a certain time period, or of a particular nationality.

LitOnlinetextsby Bryon

Author search: find biographies, full texts, criticism and reference on a particular author

LitOnlinesearchwithinausten

Use the ‘search within text’ function to search for instances of words of phrases in a particular work

LitOnlinesearchwithinresults

Criticism search: find full texts of articles on a topic of your choice.

LitOnlinecriticism

Reference search: find biographies of authors, bibliographies on certain topics, and more. Use the ‘look up’ function to be more specific.

Tick ‘biographies’ to search for biographical information on authors.

LitOnlinereferencebiography

For more hints and tips, go to the Literature Online guide.

 

[screenshot]

New E-resource trial – Alexander Street Press Videos

Between 1st September to 30th November we have access to the Alexander Street Press video database.

This offers access to streaming video across a wide variety of subjects and disciplines. Users can create playlists of whole videos, film clips, and Web content that can be saved and shared. Video from Alexander Street Press databases can be viewed alongside synchronized transcripts and can be downloaded to Apple or Android phone (good for 48 hours).

The collections covered are:

      ARTS & HUMANITIES
  • American History in Video
  • Area Studies
  • Art and Architecture in Video
  • Asian Film Online Vol. I
  • Asian Film Online Vol. II
  • Classical Music in Video
  • Dance in Video, Vol. I
  • Dance in Video Vol. II
  • Fashion Studies Online: The Video Fashion Library
  • Opera in Video
  • Religion and Philosophy Online
  • The March of Time
  • Theatre in Video
  • World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
  • World History in Video
  • World Languages and Literature
      SOCIAL SCIENCES
  • Black Studies in Video
  • Business Education in Video.
  • Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
  • Current Affairs in Video
  • Education in Video, Vol. I
  • Education in Video, Vol. II
  • Environmental Studies in Video
  • Ethnic Studies
  • Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I
  • Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. II
  • LGBT Studies in Video
  • Meet the Press
  • Psychology Online
  • Psychological Experiments Online.
  • Women’s Studies
      HEALTH SCIENCE/SCIENCE
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video, Vol. I
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video, Vol. II
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video, Vol. III
  • The Video Journal of Counseling and Psychotherapy.
  • Dental Education in Video
  • Engineering Case Studies Online
  • Health and Society in Video
  • Nursing Assessment in Video
  • Nursing Assistant Education in Video
  • Nursing Education in Video
  • Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
  • Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
  • Veterinary Education in Video

Access: See the database trials box on the E-resources A-Z page: http://libguides.rhul.ac.uk/databases

Feedback: Please email library@rhul.ac.uk with any feedback that you have on the database.

 

 

Marketline

Marketline profiles major companies, industries and geographies, MarketLine is one of the most prolific publishers of business information today. They were primarily a Market Research company but they have  expanded their offering to include the following:

The Financial Deals Tracker provides information on mergers & acquisitions, private equity, venture finance, & private placement transactions; IPOs; and partnerships – across the various industries and countries covered by MarketLine.

The Company Prospector is a list builder tool that enables you to generate prospect lists for specific industries and geographies, and perform competitor and vendor analytics on them.

The Company Report Generator too enables you to generate customised company reports including analytical texts and charts on demand.

The Industry & Advisory Prospector is an analytical tool that draws from the Financial Deals Tracker and allows you to custom generate lists of advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries.

They are an excellent resource for Company Information.

This short video introduces some of the things Marketline does:

To access Marketline go to the E-Resources A-Z list and go to M.

Searching by keyword

  • To search for information using a keyword, type your selected word(s) into the empty search bar and click on Go.
  • You will be taken to a results page containing all content matching your keyword search.
  • Arrange your results using the Sorted by button at the top of your results list.
  • Click on the arrow to sort by relevance, publication date, or title (which lists the results alphabetically).
  • Alternatively (or in addition), you can refine your search results with an additional keyword search or by using the list in the right-hand column of the page.
  • You can narrow by industry, geography, subject, topic, company information, or publication date.
  • To further refine your search results to one information type (news; financial deals; opinion; reports & briefs; databooks; companies; countries; or industries), click on the relevant tab running across the top of the page.
  • The tabs are color-coded and change color when you hover your mouse over them.
  • To retrace your current search trail, click on the small drop-down arrow at the top left of the page, next to the text that reads ‘Your search has returned’.
  • This will reveal the various search parameters that you have selected for that particular search (this is known as a breadcrumb trail).
  • You also have the option to view your results as a list or as a group using the two-sided button at the top right of the page. ‘List’ will sort your results according to the parameters you have chosen using the ‘Sorted by’ button, while ‘group’ will arrange your results by information type.

Downloading

  • Depending on the information type, MarketLine Advantage allows you to download content in one of three formats: PDF, Excel, or PowerPoint
  • Once you have clicked through to your chosen information item, your download option(s) are reflected at the top left of your screen.
  • Click on the button and select to download or save the file to a location on your computer.

Euromonitor Passport

Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.  Passport connects market research to  analysing market context, competitor insight and future trends impacting businesses globally. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions. It is useful for company information too.

Passport covers the following areas:

1) Industry data – multi-country relational database of market and category sizes, market shares, distribution patterns, sales forecasts and other measurements relevant to each sector.

2) Country reports – in-depth analysis reports on both developed and emerging national markets. Each report provides qualitative commentary on sales trends, new product and marketing developments, consumer preferences, national company and brand competition and market strategies, and the views and assumptions underlying national sales forecasts.

3) Global reports assessing the key issues affecting international market performance, with a focus on important developments by product sector and big picture competition strategy.

4) Company profiles – analytical profiles of the top international players in the industry, compiled in a standardised format for cross analysis. 5) Comment – articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics around the dynamics of the category.

This video (aimed at their corporate clients) describes what Passport does.

How to use Passport

Logon 

(You can access Passport from the library subject guides,  the Eresources A-Z or by searching for Euromonitor Passport on Library Search)

Search by Keyword

You can search by Keyword from the main page by entering your keyword in the search box in the top right hand corner.

Keyword search

The symbols next to each result indicate the type of content found e.g. statistic or
category briefing report.

results passport

Tree Searching

If you click on search in the top left hand corner something called tree searching appears.

tree results

tree searching

Using the search tree involves :

  • Choosing a category e.g. alcoholic drinks. By clicking on the + you can be more
  • specific within that sector e.g. beer and/or cider.
  • You then choose world region or countries.
  • You can then run your search or decide to only display the data/statistics.

If you run your results you can then choose to filter the results by category, geography,
statistics or analysis and date.

 

Industry Searching

Under Industries, select the sector you’re looking for. This where you’ll see various options:

Industry search
You can then start to think about the different types of data you might be interested in for the
alcoholic drinks market. E.g:

  • Which countries are largest by size?
  • Which ones might grow in the future? (so you can get predictions based on the research)
  • Which are the top companies in this sector?

Dashboards

The Dashboards visualise Passport data and help users see the information in a different way. You can explore trends in a visual format using the interactive world map. This data can also be downloaded using the options above the map.

dashboard

Searching for companies or brands

Clicking on Search to reveal different options. If you click on Companies or Brands you can be more specific with searching.

tree results

Printing and Saving.

Depending on the report type displaying you’ll see different options. You can either open the file in excel, export as a PDF or save to My Pages or print.
By creating a separate account with Passport you can set up alerts via emails or RSS feeds
and return to saved saved or downloads.

 

Further help

Once logged into
the platform please see the help section which has some good FAQs and videos. Further
information is also available on their social media accounts:

  •  Global Market Research Blog: http://blog.euromonitor.com
  •  @euromonitor
  •  https://www.facebook.com/euromonitorinternational
  •  http://www.youtube.com/user/euromonitor

 

 

Referencing essentials: RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based tool that is free to use for undergraduates and taught postgraduates. It will help you to capture, save and organise references, create bibliographies in a range of difference styles that can be used in a range of Word processing tools. You can access it on- and off-campus, from any PC which has internet access.

How do I access it?

  1. Go to the Citing and Referencing Tab on your Subject Guide OR the Citing and Referencing Guide.
  2. Click on the RefWorks Link.
  3. Create your account:

When you first use RefWorks you will need to register. From off campus, you also need our Group Code which is RWRoyalH. Then fill in your registration details as follows:

  1. Your name
  2. Your email address
  3. Choose your login name and password (we recommend using your RHUL IT username e.g. abcd123)
  4. Select your user type (e.g. undergraduate)
  5. Select your focus area (e.g. humanities)
  6. Select ‘register’ to finish

Using RefWorks

  • You can import information on books, journal articles, webpages from databases like LibrarySearch, or using the Ref-GrabIt tool.

SendtoRefWorks

  • RefWorks creates a database of your references and you can search it, and organise it into folders

RefWorks folders

  • Use RefWorks to generate an automatic bibliography

CreateBib

  • Insert footnotes or references into your dissertation, or assignment.

What if I have questions?

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art books

New York’s famous Metropolitan Museum of Art has a catalogue of 1,300 books published in the last five years available for free via Google Books. Current book titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other book titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF.

Check out this list of full-text items freely available online!

The Met is a great source of Art history material – a perfect Resource of the Week for LibraryLovesArt Month!

MetPubs_SmallBanner