The OECD is the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OECD publishes and collects statistics on a wide range of social and economic issues, including agriculture, competition, corruption, education, employment, energy, globalisation, health, international migration, sustainable development, trade, technology, transport, etc.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD since 1998 , International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 – over 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points. It also includes OECD statistical databases that you can use to build your own tables. Some databases provide data as far back as 1960.
Enter some terms into the quick SEARCH field to find related content.
1 on the homepage of OECD iLibrary, or
2 on the top of each page of OECD iLibrary.
The quick search function scans titles, abstracts, authors, ISBNs/ISSNs/DOIs, tables of contents and countries.
Note: this field will not search full-text content – see Advanced Search.
Advanced Search
Enter one term or more into the Option fields and use AND, OR, NOT to connect the fields appropriately. If desired, define the search further using other options on the page: date range, content language, imprint, thematic
collection, country or sort order.
Statistics
Databases:
– Click on “OECD.Stat” to access all dynamic databases available from the OECD allowing experienced users to make cross-database queries.
– Click on a specific title to access a unique view of the selected database, including options for creating customized tables, a data citation tool and
links to related content.
Key tables:
– Click on “Country tables” to view a selection of country-based key statistics in HTML, XLS and PDF formats.
– Click on a key table set to view a selection organised by theme. The tables are accessible in HTML, XLS and PDF formats. Books:
– Click on “OECD Factbook” to access a unique cross-section of key statistics as tables and graphs from the OECD accompanied by a brief
introduction, definitions, notes on comparability, long-term trends and sources.
– Click on a publication title to access the homepage of a statistical periodical, book series or annual/outlook.
Nexis is a comprehensive newspaper database, updated daily, providing full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and a number of trade journals and magazines. Most titles have a twenty year archive. UK newspaper titles include:
Financial Times
Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday
Independent / Independent on Sunday
Guardian / Observer
Daily Telegraph / Sunday Telegraph
Daily Mirror / Sunday Mirror
London Evening Standard
The Scotsman / Scotland on Sunday
In addition, 2300 international news providers are covered including The International Herald Tribune, The New Yorker, USA Today, India Today and the Japan Times and over 500 UK regional newspapers are also covered.
You can also find::
Company Information
Industry Information
Country Information
Biographies
To search these headings select them from the menu at the top of the page.
To Access Nexis:
Select Nexis from the Databases A-Z list or select the link from your subject guides where it appears.
From the first page, click to accept the Terms and Conditions to proceed to the database.
Browsing Nexis
To see a list of all UK newspapers covered by Nexis:
Select the Sources tab (at the top left of the screen)
From the tabs beneath this select Browse Sources
Change Filter by country to the country you are interested in (e.g. United Kingdom).
Select the News folder under publication type
Select the Newspapers folder.
A list of titles will now appear, and you can search these individually or in groups.
Searching Nexis
To search for articles, first check that you have the Search and News tabs selected from the options in the top left of the screen.
Enter your keywords into the search box and select a time period. Using In the Headline orMajor Mentions options from the drop-down menu ensures that your hits will be more relevant. This is useful for when your search is likely to retrieve a great number of articles.
The list of results displayed gives only brief details. To view the full article, click on the highlighted title of the article.
As well as newspaper articles you can use Nexis to gather information about a company, industry, country and people.
How to find articles from a particular publication
Open the News search form.
Select a source from the Sources drop-down list. For example, Irish Publications.
Select a date range in Specify date. For example, Previous year.
Sometimes you may have found an article you think will be very useful for your research but you can’t quickly find it on Library Search. Don’t give up!
Not all articles will appear when you search Library Search for them by title but we may still have a subscription to the journal. Go to the Journals by Title option on Library Search. Type in the Journal title. If you were looking for this article:
Ver Straeten, C. A. (2013), Beneath it all: bedrock geology of the Catskill Mountains and implications of its weathering. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, 1298: 1–29. doi: 10.1111/nyas.12221
The title of the journal is Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences.
Search for this and you go to the main page for the journal. Select the year, volume and issue to find the article. In most cases you could search within the title by author or article title.
2. Check Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a useful resource when you are trying to track down articles. As a database it won’t cover as much as our databases but it can help you find ways to access material.
Note: Set your Google Scholar Settings to link to Senate House and RHUL – more information here.
As well as allowing you to check both RHUL libraries and Senate Hose it also brings back information from some Online Repositories.
3. Check Senate House
Although most of the time Google Scholar will tell you if Senate House has something online it is always worth double checking. Search for the Journal Title at Senate house
4. Inter-Library Loan
If we don’t have the journal and neither does Senate House, consider requesting an Inter-Library Loan. This service is available to members of College.
5. Other Libraries
See if another library has it, and visit yourself: use the information on the Other Libraries page.
If in doubt, always check with your Information Consultant before spending any money online.
1. Select Company Information from the main front page
2. From the company information section select list builder
3. Four options will appear (if you are unsure what the sub-headings mean hover over them to get a definition or see what is covered):
Fundamentals (Information including company type or currency the company reports in)
Financials ( including profit and loss, cash flow)
Geographic (where the company trades or their ultimate parent is based)
Advisors (the auditors or bankers the company uses)
4. click on one of the four options shown (Fundamentals, Financials, Geographic or Advisers).
5. Click “Search” on an option from left panel.
6. The “Enter Criteria” box will open to the right, Select/Enter your values.
7. Click “Count” to check the number of matches for your selection.
8. Click “Apply” to add the criteria
9. * Repeat for all the search options of your choice until complete
10. Click “Output” for all the fields you wish to output as columns in the data (this is done automatically where you have searched and applied the count)
11. Click “Export” to receive your spreadsheet or Click “Benchmark” to compare the performance of your selected companies.
To find Telecommunication companies in the South East and London with a turnover of between £100,000 and £100,000,000 and a very strong credit score do the following search:
Fundamentals – Principal Activity search for Telecommunications
Financials – Turnover search for Min 1000 Max 1000000 (the search is for thousands)
Financials – Credit score Select very strong credit score
Geographic – Trading office address click on the map for your regions (you can click postcode areas or select the whole region buy clicking Add entire region) to select more than one region click back in the top left hand side of the map.
Select Benchmark to compare your list of companies with each other.
You can then sort your list by criteria under the following headings:
Have you met BoB yet? If you haven’t then you are in for a great surprise. If you regularly find yourself missing arts and cultural documentaries or any sort of television programme you can now catch up whenever you like using Box of Broadcasts (BoB).
BoB is an interactive media streaming service which is available both on and off campus anywhere within the UK. It’s a bit like BBC iPlayer but BoB can offer you much more.
More choice: you can ask for programmes to be recorded from over 50 free-to-air television and radio channels. : In addition to asking for recordings to be made, you can also access programmes other people have requested from an archive of thousands of programmes, which is continually growing.
More time: BBC’s iPlayer, programmes are only available for 7 days after being broadcast. If you request a recording from BoB, it will normally be available to view within 24 hours of broadcast and will then be available indefinitely.
More features: Every BoB user has a personal area on the service called ‘My BoB’ which stores any recordings requested, playlists and clips that they have created.You can also view other people’s play lists and pick up useful resources.
What can you do using BoB?
You can use BoB in several ways:
Record programmes:
Any student or member of staff from the Royal Holloway can request recordings of programmes, up to 3 recordings per day. Programmes can be selected from any of the 53 channels up to 7 days in advance.
You can also request recordings from the 7 day buffer where you can select programmes from the previous 7 days from any of the following channels:
BBC 1, BBC 2, BBC 3, BBC 4, ITV 1, Channel 4, Channel 5, News 24, Parliament, Radio 3, Radio 4, Five Live.
Any requested programmes are then available in the archive and also in the requesting user’s ‘My BoB’ area.
Search for programmes in the archive:
The BoB archive allows you to access not just programmes that you have requested but also programmes that users from any subscribing institution have requested. You can also access any publically available playlists and clips. Unlike the BBC iPlayer programmes do not disappear after 7 days but remain in the archive indefinitely.
Create playlists and clips from programmes:
BoB allows users to create clips from a programmes or create a playlist of related programmes and/or clips. To add a programme to a playlist just click on the ‘Add to playlist’ link at the side of the programme. To create a clip from a programme click on the ‘Create clip’ link under the programme. All programmes, playlists or clips on BoB are given a persistent URL so their location will not change.
My BoB area:
Using your ‘My BoB’ area you can manage and access any recordings you have requested. Any programmes you have requested are listed here; if a programme has yet to be uploaded to the archive it will display a clock icon next to the title, once it is available to view the link will display as dark blue. You can delete a programme from your ‘My BoB’ area by clicking on the bin icon.
More detailed information about the service can be found on the BoB subject guide pages. . This includes information on how to register the first time you use it.
Scroll down to find Key Note and click on the link
Off campus: Enter your College username and password and click Login
Select Market Research from the left hand menu.
The following options appear:
Overview: Explains more about Key Note
A-Z Reports: Provides an A-Z list of all market reports
Market Sectors: Lists categories of reports so that you can browse by sector. For example, look under the category ‘Clothing and Personal Goods’ to find a report on ‘Sportswear’.
Quick Search: You can also search by
keyword in the search box at the top right of
the screen. Your search will find any report
that mentions your keyword.
Select Advanced Search beneath the search box for a number of options to narrow your search, such as by sector or date published. You can also search within a specific report by typing the name of the report in the ‘Report title’ box and entering your search words in the
‘Full text search’ box.
Results will be displayed as a list of report titles. You can sort results alphabetically by clicking Report Title, by date by clicking Date or by type by clicking Report Type. I
f you are browsing the A-Z list, the most recent report for each title will be shown.
Click the button to view older reports with the same title.
To view a report, click on the report title.
If you are searching by keyword, click the button to view the specific chapter where your keyword(s) appear.
Keywords will be highlighted in yellow.
Click on the main report title to go to the first page of the report, or click the chapter heading to go directly to the chapter section.
To view the report in full, go to the icons at the top right of the report:
To return to the results list when viewing a chapter or report click:
To save or print a report, click on the PDF icon in the top-right to open as a PDF. Save the whole PDF or print specific chapters.
Have you seen our great new resource? It’s called Key Note and it provides market reports and company information. Even if you don’t think this resource is relevant to your studies please read on because the information contained within it could help you in that all important job search.
Research that works for you…
Analyse industry leaders
Substantiate business plans, marketing ideas and concepts
Examine current issues, market trends/developments, market size, competitive structure and marketing activity
Focus on a specific target market using exclusive buying behaviour and consumer research
Support business plans/strategies utilising Key Note’s market forecasts
Discover a market’s Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT Analysis)
Assess how trends in politics, the economy, society and technology are having an impact on a specific market (PEST analysis)
You will need to register with the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) before you can access the resource. Registration is free. To register follow the steps below:
1. Follow the direct link above to ESDS
2. Click Login (top right of the screen)
3. Select “Login via UK Federation”.
4. Type Royal Holloway into the search box and click “continue”.
5. You will be taken to an Athens login authentication point. Do not use the Athens login box, but instead click on “Alternative login”, to the bottom left of the box.
6. In the quick search box type in Royal Holloway, click on “Go” and Royal Holloway should appear at the top of the list.
7. Click on this link, which will take you to a page which allows you to “Go to the Royal Holloway, University of London login page”.
8. You should first tick the “Remember this organisation on your computer” box, then follow the “Go to the Royal Holloway, University of London login page” link.
9. Enter your College username and password, click on “Login” and you will be taken to ESDS, where you can register for an account
10. New users will be offered a Registration Form to complete.
11. Read through the terms and conditions of ESDS, and click the button to indicate that you accept them.
12. Once you have accepted the terms of ESDS you will be sent an e-mail asking you to confirm your intention to register. Click on the link in the e-mail and your registration will be complete. You will now be able to use ESDS services.
Welcome to Royal Holloway! To succeed on your course you will need to be able to search and find information quickly and effectively. To get you off to a good start here are 5 top tips:
1. Finding ebooks
We have a growing number of ebooks which you can access at any time.
To access ebooks you first need to search LibrarySearch. Search by author or keyword in the search box and then narrow your search by selecting RHUL Library Catalogue Only and Limit to Items with Online Full Text Available on the left hand side of the screen. Have a look at the short video below for a demonstration.
2. Searching for scholarly journals
Business Source Complete is a good place to start as it contains thousands of scholarly articles covering all aspects of business and management theory. You can search by keyword, subject, or for a specific article if you already have the details. Both databases also allow you to set-up alerts on topics that interest you.
You may prefer to use Google Scholar to find articles for your assignemts. You can configure Google Scholar to show an access link where full text access through a Royal Holloway subscription is available. To do this follow the steps below:
Sign in to your Google account if you have one. This will allow you to set the preferences so that you can access articles through the Royal Holloway access link on any computer
Click on the ‘Settings’ link in the top right corner
Under Library Links search for Royal Holloway and check the box next to ‘Royal Holloway, University of London – Find it @RHUL’
Finally click the ‘Save’ button
When using these links you will be prompted for your Royal Holloway logon
3. Finding newspaper articles in Nexis
Nexis is a great resource for finding full text newspaper articles and it includes hundreds of UK and international newspapers. You can browse Nexis to see which newspapers are covered or you can search for specific newspapers or groups of newspapers.
Browsing Nexis
To see a list of all UK newspapers covered by Nexis:
Select the Sources tab (at the top left of the screen)
From the tabs beneath this select Browse Sources
Change Filter by country to the country you are interested in (e.g. United Kingdom).
Select the News folder under publication type
Select the Newspapers folder.
A list of titles will now appear, and you can search these individually or in groups.
Searching Nexis
To search for articles, first check that you have the Search and News tabs selected from the options in the top left of the screen.
Enter your keywords into the search box and select a time period. Using In the Headline or Major Mentions options from the drop-down menu ensures that your hits will be more relevant. This is useful for when your search is likely to retrieve a great number of articles.
The list of results displayed gives only brief details. To view the full article, click on the highlighted title of the article.
As well as newspaper articles you can use Nexis to gather information about a company, industry, country and people.
4. Developing effective research skills
Knowing how to effectively search online resources will enhance your academic work. Take a look at one of our library skills courses IS223 How To Research Your Assignment for a step by step guide. This course will help you to identify the key concepts from a given assignment, select the best keywords and show you how to put them together to form an effective search strategy.
For a bit of fun take a look at this video!
5.. Avoiding plagiarism
You will hear the word ‘plagiarism’ referred to alot so what is it and how can I avoid it? Plagiarism involves the process of using or copying someone else’s work and pretending that you thought of it or created it. Plagiarism is viewed as a form of cheating and is a serious academic misconduct.
The most common forms of plagiarism are:
cut / copy and pasted material from the Web
copying the work of another student (past or present) including essay material, laboratory data or computer source code
copying course material or lecture notes
copying material out of a textbook or journal
You can help avoid accidental plagiarism through the proper attribution of source material (i.e. correct referencing). Always make sure you take time to reference accurately and don’t be afraid to ask for help!
There are a number of college resources available to help you understand plagiarism and how to avoid it. The Academic Support Team provide useful and interactive guides on how to understand and avoid plagiarism. See the section ‘Study Resources’ on their web pages. The Library also has a self study course IS226 Introduction to Referencing, Citing and Biliographies course which will get you started.
Correct referencing to avoid plagiarism
Through the use of correct referencing you can avoid ‘accidental plagiarism’. Referencing, also referred to a ‘citing’, is the process of adding ‘references’ (or ‘citations’) an a ‘bibliography’ within your course work. A reference is a clearly identified ‘note’ that states that you are referring to someone else’s work and what the work is that you are referring to.
Referencing must be carried out in a specific ‘style’ as required by the School. The School of Management uses a style of referencing called Harvard. The Harvard Referencing Summary Sheet from Judge Business School is a useful guide which will help you with both your in text citations and bibliography.
Did you know that you can link Google Scholar to the library here at Royal Holloway and also Senate House? It’s a really useful thing to do as it means when you search for things you can check both collections.
Login with or create a Google Account if you don’t already have one.
From the Google Scholar home page click on Settings in top right hand corner.
From the Settings Page click on Library links from the left hand side
If you are on campus Royal Holloway will automatically appear, along with Open WorldCat. Off campus you may need to search for Royal Holloway (if you log in and save this you will only need to search once).
Search for Senate House.
Check both boxes next to Senate House Libraries – Available at Senate House and University of London Senate House – Full Text @ My Library.
There is more information on Senate House in this post.
Now when you search using Google Scholar you will be able to see if the article is available through Royal Holloway library or Senate House.
Find it @ RHUL will often appear to the right of the citation but if it doesn’t click More below the citations to see options for Senate House and if appropriate Find it @ RHUL
