Category Archives: Company Information

Marketline

Marketline profiles major companies, industries and geographies, MarketLine is one of the most prolific publishers of business information today. They were primarily a Market Research company but they have  expanded their offering to include the following:

The Financial Deals Tracker provides information on mergers & acquisitions, private equity, venture finance, & private placement transactions; IPOs; and partnerships – across the various industries and countries covered by MarketLine.

The Company Prospector is a list builder tool that enables you to generate prospect lists for specific industries and geographies, and perform competitor and vendor analytics on them.

The Company Report Generator too enables you to generate customised company reports including analytical texts and charts on demand.

The Industry & Advisory Prospector is an analytical tool that draws from the Financial Deals Tracker and allows you to custom generate lists of advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries.

They are an excellent resource for Company Information.

This short video introduces some of the things Marketline does:

To access Marketline go to the E-Resources A-Z list and go to M.

Searching by keyword

  • To search for information using a keyword, type your selected word(s) into the empty search bar and click on Go.
  • You will be taken to a results page containing all content matching your keyword search.
  • Arrange your results using the Sorted by button at the top of your results list.
  • Click on the arrow to sort by relevance, publication date, or title (which lists the results alphabetically).
  • Alternatively (or in addition), you can refine your search results with an additional keyword search or by using the list in the right-hand column of the page.
  • You can narrow by industry, geography, subject, topic, company information, or publication date.
  • To further refine your search results to one information type (news; financial deals; opinion; reports & briefs; databooks; companies; countries; or industries), click on the relevant tab running across the top of the page.
  • The tabs are color-coded and change color when you hover your mouse over them.
  • To retrace your current search trail, click on the small drop-down arrow at the top left of the page, next to the text that reads ‘Your search has returned’.
  • This will reveal the various search parameters that you have selected for that particular search (this is known as a breadcrumb trail).
  • You also have the option to view your results as a list or as a group using the two-sided button at the top right of the page. ‘List’ will sort your results according to the parameters you have chosen using the ‘Sorted by’ button, while ‘group’ will arrange your results by information type.

Downloading

  • Depending on the information type, MarketLine Advantage allows you to download content in one of three formats: PDF, Excel, or PowerPoint
  • Once you have clicked through to your chosen information item, your download option(s) are reflected at the top left of your screen.
  • Click on the button and select to download or save the file to a location on your computer.

Using Key Note for Job Searching

Key Note is very useful for searching for companies to apply for.

To find Key Note go to the Databases A-Z page on the subject guides and go to K.

To see a list of the databases that contain company information visit the company information page in the subject guides under Management – Finding E-resources

This is how to find a list of companies in a particular area or industry.((You can also search for market reports – see this blog post)

1. Select Company Information from the main front pageKeynote

 

2. From the company information section select list builder

Keynote company information

3. Four options will appear (if you are unsure what the sub-headings mean hover over them to get a definition or see what is covered):

  • Fundamentals (Information including company type or currency the company reports in)
  • Financials ( including profit and loss, cash flow)
  • Geographic (where the company trades or their ultimate parent is based)
  • Advisors (the auditors or bankers the company uses)

4. click on one of the four options shown (Fundamentals, Financials, Geographic or Advisers).
5. Click “Search” on an option from left panel.
6. The “Enter Criteria” box will open to the right, Select/Enter your values.
7. Click “Count” to check the number of matches for your selection.
8. Click “Apply” to add the criteria
9. * Repeat for all the search options of your choice until complete
10. Click “Output” for all the fields you wish to output as columns in the data (this is done automatically where you have searched and applied the count)
11. Click “Export” to receive your spreadsheet or Click “Benchmark” to compare the performance of your selected companies.

To find  Telecommunication companies in the South East and London with a turnover of between £100,000 and £100,000,000 and a very strong credit score do the following search:

Fundamentals – Principal Activity search for Telecommunications

Financials – Turnover search for Min 1000 Max 1000000 (the search is for thousands)

Financials – Credit score Select very strong credit score

Geographic – Trading office address click on the map for your regions (you can click postcode areas or select the whole region buy clicking Add entire region) to select more than one region click back in the top left hand side of the map.

Select Benchmark to compare your list of companies with each other.

benchmark keynote

You can then sort your list by criteria under the following headings:

  • Size
  • Profitability
  • Liquidity
  • Gearing
  • Efficiency
  • Employee (including pay per employee)
  • Growth

 

 

 

 

Using Key Note to find Market Research reports

To Access Key Note

  1. Go to the library website: http://www.rhul.ac.uk/library 
  2. Select the Subject Guides
  3. Select the Databases A-Z tab 
  4. Select K
  5. Scroll down to find Key Note and click on the link
  6. Off campus: Enter your College username and password and click Login

Keynote

 

Select Market Research from the left hand menu.

The following options appear:

Key note market research

  •  Overview: Explains more about Key Note
  • A-Z Reports: Provides an A-Z list of all market reports
  • Market Sectors: Lists categories of reports so that you can browse by sector. For example, look under the category ‘Clothing and Personal Goods’ to find a report on ‘Sportswear’.

Key note search
Quick Search: You can also search by
keyword in the search box at the top right of
the screen. Your search will find any report
that mentions your keyword.

Key Note Report Search

 

Select Advanced Search beneath the search box for a number of options to narrow your search, such as by sector or date published. You can also search within a specific report by typing the name of the report in the ‘Report title’ box and entering your search words in the
‘Full text search’ box.

 

 

Results will be displayed as a list of report titles. You can sort results alphabetically by clicking Report Title, by date by clicking Date or by type by clicking Report Type. I

f you are browsing the A-Z list, the most recent report for each title will be shown.

Click the Key not button button to view older reports with the same title.

To view a report, click on the report title.

If you are searching by keyword, click the Key not button button to view the specific chapter where your keyword(s) appear.

Keywords will be highlighted in yellow.

Click on the main report title to go to the first page of the report, or click the chapter heading to go directly to the chapter section.

To view the report in full, go to the icons at the top right of the report:
Key note icons
To return to the results list when viewing a chapter or report click:

Key note search results

 

To save or print a report, click on the PDF icon in the top-right to open as a PDF. Save the whole PDF or print specific chapters.

Key Note

Have you seen our great new resource? It’s called Key Note and it provides market reports and company information. Even if you don’t think this resource is relevant to your studies please read on because the information contained within it could help you in that all important job search.

KeynoteResearch that works for you…

  • Analyse industry leaders
  • Substantiate business plans, marketing ideas and concepts
  • Examine current issues, market trends/developments, market size, competitive structure and marketing activity
  • Focus on a specific target market using exclusive buying behaviour and consumer research
  • Support business plans/strategies utilising Key Note’s market forecasts
  • Discover a market’s Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT Analysis)
  • Assess how trends in politics, the economy, society and technology are having an impact on a specific market (PEST analysis)

Keynote have a helpful guide to how to use the resource which we recommend people look at.

How to use Key Note to get a job

  • Research companies in the industry or region you want to work in
  • Incorporate a fact or figure from researching a company or organisation when responding to, or asking a question at, a job interview.